Book Review – Blink by K. L. Slater


blinkTitle:
Blink

Author: K. L. Slater

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 16th February 2017

Format: ARC e-book

Note: This book was received from the publisher in return for an honest review

About the book:

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.

What I Thought:

The cover of Blink makes a bold claim, describing itself as “a gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist you’ll never forget”. Luckily for me it’s a claim I feel the book lived up to. It really starts off with a bang and within a few pages I was hooked.

Blink focuses on Toni, a widow whose husband was a solider injured in Afghanistan and later passed away, and their young daughter Evie following their move to Nottingham. The story moved between the present day, and three years in the past – the point when Evie went missing – and follows several different characters. K.L. Slater does a great job with her characterisation and she frequently had me second guessing myself, that character I was suspicious of, were they really someone I should be suspicious of, did they have something to do with Evie’s disappearance, or was I only thinking that because I was seeing them through Toni’s eyes and she was already becoming a little paranoid?

As for the killer twist, I didn’t see it coming, I won’t go into any detail as I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone. Safe to say I made some wrong assumptions along the way and was pleasantly surprised when I was forced to rethink everything I thought I knew.

Would I recommend it?

Yes, Blink is a really successful psychological thriller. The only caveat I would put in is that the novel does jump around a lot, both through time and point of view. I followed the storyline fine, the chapters all clearly state if they are set in the present day or the past, and the point of view, but I appreciate it’s perhaps not as easy to follow as a linear plotline.

4 Stars

Sarah

3 Comments

  1. I’m really excited to read this one! Thanks for linking up to the British Books Challenge x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Book Review – Blink by K L Slater […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s