Tuesday’s Teaser – Countless

Welcome to this week’s Teaser Tuesday!

The rules are simple:

    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share one or two sentences from that page
    • Avoid spoilers – Pick a sentence that doesn’t give too much away

Today’s teaser comes from Countless by Karen Gregory which was released at the beginning of the month, it’s a book I received from NetGalley and started on Sunday night thanks to recommendations from the SundayYA twitter chat.

C2About the Book: When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

This is from the first chapter

I start to wind the thread on my finger, count how many times it goes round. ‘It’s nothing really. I just don’t feel… right. Like, more than  normal, I mean. I’m tired all the time. And there’s something else.’ I take another big breath then speak in a rush. ‘My stomach… it’s kind of swollen. I was thinking, could it be… Have I done something permanent, with Nia?’

‘Hedda, we’ve talked about this. You need to stop referring  to  your  eating  disorder  by  that  name,’  Felicity  says. Which is spectacularly missing the point in my opinion.

‘Right, yeah, sorry. But about what I was saying. Could it be… cancer?’

‘I don’t think… Well, we could certainly arrange for a check up.’ Felicity  gives me a closer look, frowns, then glances again at her book of doom. ‘Is there anything that’s concerning you at the moment? College, home, friends?’ I’m already shaking my head when she adds, ‘Boyfriends?’ Though she’s more or less smiling at this last one. I  don’t smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.

When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she’s just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward, and in a gentle voice I’ve never heard her use before she says, ‘Have you done a pregnancy test?’

This week’s SundayYA just happens to have Karen Gregory coming along as a guest so come join us!

 

Does this sound like something you’d want to read? Share a teaser from your own current read leave me a comment below!

Sarah

1 Comment

  1. […] Tuesday is a bookish Meme hosted by Sarah Withers at Sarah Withers Blogs. Thanks to Sarah for hosting. This is how it […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

