Sarah Withers… Tell No Lies by Lisa Hartley

TNL.pngTitle: Tell No Lies

Author: Lisa Hartley

Publisher: Canelo

Publication Date: 19th February 2018

Format: eARC

This book was received from the publisher in return for an honest review

Divider Blue

About the book:

Now they’re coming after Caelan’s team…
A tortured body is found in a basement. Drug dealing and people smuggling is on the rise. Then police start going missing.

There seems to be no connection between the crimes, but Detective Caelan Small senses something isn’t right.

Plunged into a new investigation, lives are on the line. And in the web of gangs, brothels and nerve-shattering undercover work, Caelan must get to the truth – or be killed trying.

And then there’s Nicky…

Utterly gripping, written with searing tension and remarkable dexterity, Tell No Lies is a blistering crime novel for fans of Angela Marsons, Rebecca Bradley and Faith Martin.

Divider Blue

What I Thought:

Last July you may have seen me rave about a new detective series by Lisa Hartley, I reviewed Ask No Questions as part of the blog tour, and you can find it here. I adored Ask No Questions so you can imagine my excitement when I was contacted and asked if I’d like to take part in the blog tour for the sequel Tell No Lies. My review won’t feature any spoilers for Tell No Lies, but will feature spoilers from Ask No Questions so if you’ve not read it yet consider yourself warned!

Tell No Lies picks up just after Ask No Questions, Caelan is still coming to terms with the aftermath of her last case, dealing with her physical injuries, the betrayal of her senior colleague and the discovery that the love of her life didn’t actually die in her arms but that her death was faked and she had been taken into witness protection. Less than 24 hours into her enforced leave Caelan receives a phone call from Elizabeth Beckett calling her back to the station, a body has been discovered and it’s clear they were tortured before they were killed, with possible connections to a murdered police office Beckett wants Caelan on the case, not just on the case but working with Nicky. Tell No Lies follows Caelan and Nicky to North London as they immerse themselves into the gangs and drug dealers of the area – I will say no more on the plot!

I really enjoyed being back with Caelan Small for another investigation. If you’ve been following my blog for a while you may have noticed I do enjoy a good crime novel. The Caelan Small books differentiate themselves from a lot of other crime books by focusing on the work of undercover officers. I really enjoy reading this slightly different side to a criminal investigation, the different challenges an undercover police officer might face.

The introduction of Nicky brought an interesting new dynamic to the book, but I must admit to missing Ewan who featured less prominently in this story, however considering he is still nursing a couple of cracked ribs from the end of Ask No Questions it’s perfectly understandable!

I thought the plot was well paced, with well timed developments keeping me turning the pages well into the night desperate to know what was coming next, I must admit to being surprised by the final few chapters, and then there’s that ending! Yet again Lisa had be desperately flicking at my iPad trying to turn to another page that just wasn’t there, she definitely knows how to leave the reader wanting more, I really hope there’s a book three, and I hope I’m not left waiting for too long!

Divider Blue

Would I Recommend?

Yes! In Tell No Lies Lisa has once again created a gripping, page turning thriller. I loved following Caelan through another adventure, and I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Tell No Lies to anyone who enjoys a good crime thriller. If you’ve not yet read Ask No Questions I’d definitely suggest reading that first to get the most out of Tell No Lies.

5 Stars

Divider Blue

Other books in the Caelan Small series

My previous Lisa Hartley reviews

Divider Blue

Want to buy it?

  Amazon UK Amazon US

Divider Blue

As always if you’ve read the book let me know what you thought! If you’ve not read it yet will my review convince you to pick it up?

With Love Sarah

Tell No Lies Blog Tour Banner (2).png

5 Comments

  1. I probably don’t need to tell you this but I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH. Fab review Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so hard to write! I kept having to delete things. I think we need to have a discussion about it because there’s much I need to talk about but couldn’t in the review because it would spoil the book for others!

      Like

      1. Yes please. I am all there for this discussion. I have FEELINGS.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really wanted to read this but unfortunately my NetGalley request had been declined, then I forgot about it. I’ve got to go pick up a copy now, this looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would highly recommend definitely worth the £1.99!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.